Friday, 25 September 2015

Jerwood Drawing Prize 2015

'The Jerwood Drawing Prize is the largest and longest running annual open exhibition for drawing in the UK.

Selected from original drawings, the Jerwood Drawing Prize has established a reputation for its commitment to championing excellence, and to promoting and celebrating the breadth of contemporary drawing practice within the UK.'

Artists can deliver their submissions to one of various collection points around the UK, and a courier delivers the artworks to the Jerwood Space in London where they are judged, and the unsuccessful submissions are returned to the collection points to be picked up by the artists.

Earlier in the year I was involved in this process, working at the North East collection point based at Newcastle University. It was certainly challenging, but very interesting to see what people were entering, and intriguing to find out which artworks were chosen from the North East. I was curious to discover the full complement of artists and artworks that form the 2015 exhibition.

'A total of 60 works by 58 artists, including one collaboration, have been selected for exhibition by the panel; Dexter Dalwood, artist; Salima Hashmi, artist, curator and writer; and John-Paul Stonard, art historian.

The Jerwood Drawing Prize 2015 artists are: Elisa Alaluusua, Ian Andrews, Robert Battams, Frances Blane, Hannah Blight-Anderson, Pia Bramley, Pete Burke, John Close, Julie Cockburn, Daniel Crawshaw, Gerry Davies, Cinzia Delnevo, Sammy Dent, Emma Douglas, Bryan Eccleshall, Pennie Elfick, Susan England, Exchange + Draw, Mark Farhall, Craig Fisher, Nina Fowler, Thomas Gosebruch, Thomas Harrison, Roland Hicks, William Hughes, Julia Hutton, Mehr Javed, Ben Johnson, Ali Kayley, Nigel Kingsbury, Lois Langmead, Gary Lawrence, Juliette Losq, William Mackrell, Sean Maltby, Grace McMurray, Anouk Mercier, Mary Millner, Joonhong Min, Paul Peden, Lee John Phillips, Ruth Philo, Giulia Ricci, Annette Robinson, Jenny Ross ,Gabriela Schutz, Sarah Seymour, Caroline Shadbolt, Soheila Sokhanvari, Charlotte Steel, Hanna ten Doornkaat, John Thole, Caroline Truss, Alan Turnbull, Ronis Varlaam, Rosie Vohra, Roy Willingham, Martha Zmpounou.

Speaking about the winning works, Professor Anita Taylor, director of the Jerwood Drawing Prize project, said: “The commitment and endeavour of artists and designers, emerging and mature, to use drawing as a vital means of creativity and as a means to explore and understand the world anew, is significant. The award winners deploy drawing in various forms to both document and to question our perceptions.”

Jerwood Drawing Prize 2015 continues at Jerwood Space, London until 25 October 2015.

The exhibition will then tour to venues across the UK, including Cheltenham Art Gallery and Museum: The Wilson (21 November 2015 – 31 January 2016), Sidney Cooper Gallery, Canterbury (11 February – 9 April 2016), and Falmouth Art Gallery (23 April – 25 June 2016).'

No comments: